Seattle Indian Community -
| | |


UMBC Retrievers defeat USF Bulls to win National Title & Chanderpaul Trophy !

Contributed by : Lloyd Jodah

Share With Your Friends

Add To My Favorite

As the sun set, and the Stadium lights came on, the University of South Florida Bulls and the University of Maryland Baltimore County Retrievers took the field for the 5th Finals of the American College Cricket Spring Break Championship,presented by Coca Cola with supporting sponsor Dish Network, on TV Asia.

It was likely to be a low-scoring Finals on the CBRP Cricket Stadium pitch, with the ball keeping low, and not coming on to the bat but the high powered USF batting was expected to make the most of it.  However Gurnish Singh bowled Ashgar Sheik for a duck and then got Sai Ramesh lbw for a duck - the 2nd Finals in a row that Ramesh had gone that way !

Regionals centurion Krunal Bhange meanwhile was holding his end, but Taha Menon got 2 wickets and UMBC Captain Rikin Parikh sent back Harsha Boddepalli, lbw for 8. Boddepalli, the USF Captain in 2009, 2010 & 2011 had smashed the first American College Cricket century,133, back in the 2010 Nationals, graduated but was playing as an alum.

Bhange's 32 in 36 balls and Karthik's 21 in 28 balls dragged USF to 107 all out on the last ball of their 20 overs. Gurnish finished with 3 for 23, Taha Menon 2 for 20 and Parikh 2 for 14.

The 12 HD cameras of TV Asia ensured the action was spendidly captured, with slow motion replays, as the varied voices and perspectives of Jamie Lloyd, David Sentance, Darren Stortz, Tim Shirriffs and Lloyd Jodah provided commentary. 

Some tight fielding by USF made it tough going for UMBC, despite consistent scoring by their top order, and the game came down to a thrilling finish ! Normally hard hitting Eraj Abidi got 24 with 2 fours, Anand Patel 16, Raghav Bharadwaj made 28. Digant Samant continued his excellent form, making 30 and appeared to be taking UMBC to victory before he was run out, making it 102 for 4, and another run out by Sai Ramesh made it 103 for 5 in the 19th over!

But with Gurnish at the non-striker's end Captain Rikin Parikh struck a 4 to seal the win, the National title, and the Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy for the University of Maryland Baltimore County !

The UMBC team now will spend a year reaping the rewards of National Champions, beginning with an appearance at the studios of TV Asia, articles in the Baltimore Sun and their University media, and much more to come. 

As for USF, commentator Jamie Lloyd said, "3rd time unlucky for USF. They're got the players; they've got the skill. It's a matter of when rather than if. But they must consider themselves very unlucky! Do we dare use the 'C' word?"  (choke)

With an incredible run from 2009, the USF Bulls will want to ensure their legacy is not that of the Buffalo Bills of 1990-94 behind Jim Kelly, but that of the Denver Broncos of the 90s behind John Elway.

This Finals was the 24th American College Cricket match shown on TV Asia, all over the USA & Canada, since October 2011. All 50 matches were scored on CricHQ, & could be followed online by fans live - the first time ever such a large tournament had done that in the USA & Canada.  SCORECARD

Photo : National Champion UMBC Retrievers with Lloyd Jodah


Disclaimer: Please use this channel at your own discretion. These articles are contributed by our users. We are not responsible or liable for any problems related to the utilization of information of these articles.


View All Contributions

Premium Advertiser
Real Estate Brokers/Agents - Agency One, Neil Ahluwalia

This is an advertisement
Post an Article
Notify Me of New Articles

Become A Featured Contributor
Add Your Blog | Add Recipe | Add Article

More Article by Lloyd Jodah

Laurier University wins American College Cricket Mid West Championship
World Class Cricket Stars in Florida in Aug.
Which University will Win the American College Cricket National Championship ?
College World Cup in Florida in 2018 !
ESPN & TV Asia to broadcast American College Cricket Finals on March 16 !
View All Articles

Featured Contributors

Shruti Sadolkar

Anu Peshawaria

Christine Dunbar
Christine Dunbar

Ananya Kiran

Aayushi Manish

Tahmina Watson
Tahmina Watson

Rima Arora

Vivek Wadhwa

Vasudha Sharma
Vasudha Sharma

Latest Articles

Sridhar Rangayan to be honoured at film festival in Spain by Staff
Hope by Mona Lamba
"I would like to direct a film someday" - Actor Rajesh Sharma by Staff
Actor Rajesh Sharma, Rahul Bagga and Nancy Thakkar promoting by Staff
Varsha Naik Making India Proud in US by Staff
View All Articles